Chlorure (Cl)

UNITÉS SI (recommande)

UNITÉS CONVENTIONNELLES



Synonym
Chlore, Cl, Cl-
Units of measurement
mmol/L, mEq/L

Les électrolytes jouent un rôle dans la plupart des fonctions métaboliques de l’organisme. Le sodium, le potassium et le chlore comptent parmi les ions physiologiques les plus importants et sont les électrolytes les plus souvent mesurés. Leur apport est essentiellement alimentaire; ils sont absorbés par le tractus gastro-intestinal et excrétés par voie rénale.

Le chlore est le principal anion extracellulaire. Il sert à réguler la distribution des fluides extracellulaires.

Sérum/plasma: Comme pour les autres ions, la réduction de l’apport de chlore dans l’alimentation, des vomissements prolongés, une baisse de la réabsorption rénale, ainsi que certaines formes d’acidose et d’alcalose représentent les causes habituelles de la diminution du chlore. Les taux de chlore augmentent en cas de déshydratation, d’insuffisance rénale, de certaines formes d’acidose, d’apport de chlore élevé par l’alimentation ou par voie parentérale et d’intoxication par les salicylés.

Urine: L’élimination de chlore dans l’urine varie fortement en fonction du régime alimentaire. L’augmentation physiologique du chlore urinaire accompagne les diurèses post‐menstruelles et sa baisse s’observe au cours de la rétention hydrosodée prémenstruelle; ces changements évoluent parallèlement à une augmentation et une diminution des taux de sodium urinaire. Le chlore urinaire est dosé pour évaluer la composition électrolytique et pour étudier l’équilibre acido-basique.

Chloride (Cl)

SI UNITS (recommended)

CONVENTIONAL UNITS



* The SI unit is the recommended method of reporting clinical laboratory results

Synonym
Cl, Cl-
Units of measurement
mmol/L, mEq/L

Electrolytes are involved in most major metabolic functions in the body. Sodium, potassium and chloride are amongst the most important physiological ions and the most often assayed electrolytes. They are supplied primarily through the diet, absorbed in the gastrointestinal tract and excreted by the kidneys.

Chloride is the major extracellular anion and serves to regulate the balance of extracellular fluid distribution.

Serum/plasma: Similarly to the other ions, common causes of decreased chloride include reduced dietary intake, prolonged vomiting, reduced renal reabsorption as well as some forms of acidosis and alkalosis. Increased chloride values are found in dehydration, kidney failure, some forms of acidosis, high dietary or parenteral chloride intake and salicylate poisoning.

Urine: Urinary excretion of chloride normally approximates the dietary intake. Physiological increase of urinary chloride is found with postmenstrual diuresis and a decrease with premenstrual salt and water retention, in parallel with an increase or decrease of urinary sodium levels. Chloride in urine is examined in evaluation of electrolyte composition and in acid-base balance studies.

Lab units Conversion Calculator. Convert Chloride (Cl) level to mmol/L, mEq/L. Clinical laboratory units online conversion from conventional or traditional units to Si units. Table of conversion factors for Chloride (Cl) unit conversion to mmol/L, mEq/L.