CA 19-9 (Antigène de cancer 19-9)

UNITÉS SI (recommande)

UNITÉS CONVENTIONNELLES



Synonym
Carbohydrate Antigène 19-9
Units of measurement
U/mL, kU/L

Les valeurs de CA 19‐9 sont déterminées en utilisant l’anticorps monoclonal 1116‐NS‐19‐9. Le 1116‐NS‐19‐9 se fixe sur les déterminants antigéniques du glycolipide de poids moléculaire voisin de 10000 daltons. Cette mucine correspond à un haptène des déterminants du groupe sanguin Lewis a. Elle entre dans la composition de nombreuses cellules du tissu muqueux.

3 à 7 % de la population est de groupe sanguin Lewis négatif Le(a‐b‐) et ne peut pas exprimer la mucine avec le déterminant antigénique CA 19‐9. Il convient de tenir compte de ce point au moment d’interpréter les analyses.

La mucine est présente dans l’épithélium de l’estomac, de l’intestin et du pancréas fœtal. Chez l’adulte, on la trouve en très faible quantité dans les tissus du foie, des poumons et du pancréas.

De par sa bonne sensibilité (entre 70 et 87 %), le test CA 19‐9 constitue une aide au diagnostic différentiel et au suivi évolutif des patients atteints de cancer du pancréas. Il n’y a pas de corrélation entre les taux de CA 19‐9 et la masse tumorale. Néanmoins, un taux sérique de CA 19‐9 supérieur à 10000 U/mL chez un patient indique généralement la présence de métastases.

La détermination du CA 19‐9 ne peut pas être utilisée pour le dépistage précoce du cancer du pancréas.

Pour le cancer hépatobiliaire, la sensibilité du dosage du CA 19‐9 est de 50 à 75 %. Pour le cancer gastrique, il est recommandé de doser conjointement le CA 72‐4 et l’ACE. Pour le cancer colorectal, le dosage de l’ACE est suffisant. La détermination du taux de CA 19‐9 peut s’avérer utile dans les rares cas de cancers non ACE sécrétants.

La mucine étant exclusivement excrétée par le foie, on peut observer une nette élévation du CA 19‐9 en cas de cholestase bénigne. Les taux de CA 19‐9 sont également élevés lors de nombreuses maladies bénignes ou inflammatoires du tractus gastro‐intestinal et du foie, ainsi que lors de mucoviscidose.

CA 19-9 (Carbohydrate Antigen 19-9)

SI UNITS (recommended)

CONVENTIONAL UNITS



* The SI unit is the recommended method of reporting clinical laboratory results

Synonym
CA 19-9, Cancer Antigen 19-9, Gastrointestinal Cancer Antigen.
Units of measurement
U/mL, kU/L

The CA 19‑9 values measured are defined by the use of the monoclonal antibody 1116‑NS‑19‑9. The 1116‑NS‑19‑9‑reactive determinants on a glycolipid having a molecular weight of approximately 10000 daltons are measured. This mucin corresponds to a hapten of Lewis‑a blood group determinants and is a component of a number of mucous membrane cells.

3‑7 % of the population have the Lewis a‑negative/b‑negative blood group configuration and are unable to express the mucin with the reactive determinant CA 19‑9. This must be taken into account when interpreting the findings.

Mucin occurs in fetal gastric, intestinal and pancreatic epithelia. Low concentrations can also be found in adult tissue in the liver, lungs, and pancreas.

CA 19‑9 assay values can assist in the differential diagnosis and monitoring of patients with pancreatic carcinoma (sensitivity 70‑87 %). There is no correlation between tumor mass and the CA 19‑9 assay values. However, patients with CA 19‑9 serum levels above 10000 U/mL almost always have distal metastasis.

The determination of CA 19‑9 cannot be used for the early detection of pancreatic carcinoma. In hepatobiliary carcinoma the CA 19‑9 values provide a sensitivity of 50‑75 %. The concomitant determination of CA 72‑4 and CEA is recommended in cases of gastric carcinoma. In colorectal carcinoma, determination of CEA alone is adequate; only in rare CEA‑negative cases the determination of CA 19‑9 can be useful.

As the mucin is excreted exclusively via the liver, even slight cholestasis can lead to clearly elevated CA 19‑9 serum levels in some cases. Elevated CA 19‑9 values are also found with a number of benign and inflammatory diseases of the gastrointestinal tract and the liver, as well as in cystic fibrosis.

SI units Conversion Calculator. Convert CA 19-9 (Carbohydrate Antigen 19-9) level to U/mL, kU/L . Clinical laboratory units online conversion from conventional or traditional units to Si units. Table of conversion factors for CA 19-9 (Carbohydrate Antigen 19-9) unit conversion to U/mL, kU/L .