Osteocalcin (OCN)

SI-EINHEITEN

KONVENTIONELLE EINHEITEN



Einheiten im Messwesen
ng/mL, ng/dL, ng/100mL, ng%, ng/L, µg/L

Osteocalcin, das wichtigste nicht‐kollagene Protein der Knochenmatrix, ist ein knochen-spezifisches, Vitamin K‐abhängiges, Calcium-bindendes Protein, bestehend aus 49 Aminosäuren mit einem Molekulargewicht von ca. 5800 Da. Es enthält bis zu drei γ‐Carboxyglutaminsäurereste (Bone‐GLA‐Protein, BGP).

Während des Knochenaufbaus wird Osteocalcin von den Osteoblasten synthetisiert. Die Produktion ist Vitamin K-abhängig - Bildung von γ‐Carboxyglutaminsäureresten - und wird durch Vitamin D3 stimuliert. Nach der Freisetzung aus den Osteoblasten wird Osteocalcin sowohl in die Knochenmatrix eingebaut als auch in die Blutzirkulation sezerniert. Infolgedessen steht der Osteocalcin Serum (Plasma)-Spiegel bei verschiedenen Störungen des Knochenstoffwechsels, wie vor allem der Osteoporose, aber auch bei primärem und sekundärem Hyperparathyreodismus oder Morbus Paget, im Zusammenhang mit der Knochenumsatzrate (rate of bone turnover).

Osteocalcin wird deshalb als Knochenumsatz-Marker (bone turnover marker) bezeichnet und angewendet. Die Therapieeffizienzkontrolle von Antiresorptiva (Bisphosphonat, Hormon-Replacement-Therapy, HRT) z.B. bei Patienten mit Osteoporose oder Hypercalcämie durch eine Osteocalcin- Bestimmung ist möglich.

Laborwerte rechner. Einheitenumrechner SI-konventionell / konventionell-SI.
Umrechnung Osteocalcin (OCN) von / in ng/mL, ng/dL, ng/100mL, ng%, ng/L, µg/L. Faktoren zur umrechnung von konventionellen Einheiten in SI-Einheiten. Osteocalcin (OCN) umrechnungstabellen.

Osteocalcin (OCN)

SI UNITS (recommended)

CONVENTIONAL UNITS



* The SI unit is the recommended method of reporting clinical laboratory results

Synonym
Bone gamma-carboxyglutamic acid-containing protein (BGLAP)
Units of measurement
ng/mL, ng/dL, ng/100mL, ng%, ng/L, µg/L

Osteocalcin, the most important non - collagen protein in bone matrix, is a bone - specific, calcium - binding protein which is dependent on vitamin K. It contains 49 amino acids and has a molecular weight of approx. 5800 daltons. It contains up to three γ‑carboxyglutamic acid residues (bone - GLA - protein, BGP).

During bone synthesis osteocalcin is produced by the osteoblasts. Its production is dependent upon vitamin K (formation of γ‑carboxyglutamic acid residues) and is stimulated by vitamin D3. After release from the osteoblasts, osteocalcin is not only assimilated into the bone matrix but also secreted into the blood stream. Accordingly, the serum (plasma) osteocalcin level is related to the rate of bone turnover in various disorders of bone metabolism, e.g. osteoporosis in particular, but also in primary and secondary hyperparathyroidism or Paget's disease.

Osteocalcin is therefore termed a bone turnover marker and is used for this purpose. By means of osteocalcin measurements it is possible to monitor therapy with antiresorptive agents (bisphosphonates or hormone replacement therapy, HRT) in, for example, patients with osteoporosis or hypercalcemia.

Both intact osteocalcin (amino acids 1‑49) and the large N‑MID fragment (amino acids 1‑43) occur in blood. Intact osteocalcin is unstable due to protease cleavage between amino acids 43 and 44. The N‑MID‑fragment resulting from cleavage is considerably more stable

SI units Conversion Calculator. Convert Osteocalcin (OCN) level to ng/mL, ng/dL, ng/100mL, ng%, ng/L, µg/L. Clinical laboratory units online conversion from conventional or traditional units to Si units. Table of conversion factors for Osteocalcin (OCN) unit conversion to ng/mL, ng/dL, ng/100mL, ng%, ng/L, µg/L.