Anticorps anti-thyroglobuline (anti-Tg)

UNITÉS SI (recommande)

UNITÉS CONVENTIONNELLES



Synonym
Anticorps anti-thyroïdiens, Anticorps anti-TG
Units of measurement
IU/mL, kIU/L

La thyroglobuline (Tg) est produite dans la glande thyroïde et constitue le principal composant de la colloïde folliculaire. Elle joue, avec la thyroperoxydase (TPO), un rôle essentiel dans l’iodation de la L‐tyrosine, permettant la synthèse des hormones thyroïdiennes T4 et T3. Comme la TPO, la Tg est un auto‐antigène potentiel.

Lors de thyroïdite avec participation auto‐immunitaire, le taux sérique d’auto-anticorps anti‐Tg augmente. Des concentrations élevées en anticorps anti‐Tg et anti‐TPO sont un indicateur de thyroïdite avec infiltration lymphocytaire (thyroïdite d’Hashimoto). La fréquence d’autoanticorps anti‐Tg est d’environ 70 à 80 % lors d’auto‐immunité thyroïdienne (thyroïdite d’Hashimoto incluse) et d’environ 30 % lors de maladie de Basedow. La détermination des anticorps anti‐Tg est une aide importante dans le suivi de thyroïdites d’Hashimoto et le diagnostic différentiel (suspicion de maladie thyroïdienne auto‐immune d'origine inconnue à anti‐TPO négatifs, maladie de Basedow sans infiltration lymphocytaire, exclusion de l’interférence des autoanticorps anti‐Tg dans les dosages de Tg).

Même si la sensibilité de la méthode peut être augmentée par le dosage en parallèle d’autres anticorps thyroïdiens (anti‐TPO, anti‐récepteur de la TSH), un résultat négatif ne permet pas d’exclure la présence d’une maladie auto‐immune. Le taux d'anticorps ne corrèle pas avec l’activité clinique de l’affection. Des titres d’anticorps initialement élevés peuvent redescendre à la normale après une période prolongée de la maladie tout comme lors de rémission. La réapparition d’anticorps après rémission est un indicateur probable de récidive.

Antibody to thyroglobulin (anti-Tg)

SI UNITS (recommended)

CONVENTIONAL UNITS



* The SI unit is the recommended method of reporting clinical laboratory results

Synonym
Anti-thyroglobulin Autoantibodies, Thyroglobulin Antibodies, Tg Autoantibody, TgAb, Anti-Tg Ab, ATG
Units of measurement
IU/mL, kIU/L

Thyroglobulin (Tg) is produced in the thyroid gland and is a main component in the lumen of the thyroid follicle. In synergy with the enzyme thyroid‑specific peroxidase (TPO), Tg has an essential function in the iodination of L‑tyrosine and in the formation of the thyroid hormones T4 and T3. Both Tg and TPO are potentially autoantigenic.

Elevated serum concentrations of antibodies against Tg (Tg‑autoantibodies) are found in subjects with autoimmunity‑based thyroiditis. High concentrations of anti‑Tg together with anti‑TPO are indicative of chronic lymphocytic‑infiltrative thyroiditis (Hashimoto's disease). The frequency of thyroglobulin antibodies is approx. 70‑80 % in subjects with autoimmune‑thyroiditis, including Hashimoto's disease, and approx. 30 % in individuals with Graves' disease. The anti‑Tg assay is important for use in monitoring the course of Hashimoto's thyroiditis 2 and for the differential diagnosis (cases of suspected autoimmune thyroiditis of unknown origin with negative anti‑TPO test results, 3 Graves' disease without lymphocytic infiltration, 2 and to rule out interference by Tg‑autoantibodies in the Tg test).

Although the sensitivity of the procedure can be increased by simultaneously determining additional thyroid antibodies (anti‑TPO, TSH‑receptor‑antibodies), a negative result does not definitively rule out the presence of an autoimmune disease. The level of the antibody titer does not correlate with the clinical activity of the disease. Titers that are elevated initially can become negative if the disease persists for a longer period of time or if remission occurs. If antibodies reappear after remission, a relapse is likely

SI units Conversion Calculator. Convert Antibody to thyroglobulin (anti-Tg) level to IU/mL, kIU/L. Clinical laboratory units online conversion from conventional or traditional units to Si units. Table of conversion factors for Antibody to thyroglobulin (anti-Tg) unit conversion to IU/mL, kIU/L.